About the Post

Author Information

20th annual Jim Wayne Miller Celebration of Writing Oct. 23 to feature author Silas House

Author Silas House will be the featured presenter as WKU celebrates the 20th anniversary of the Jim Wayne Miller Celebration of Writing.

Silas House

Silas House

The Oct. 23 event features a reading by House, followed by a reception and book signing. It will begin at 2 p.m. (CT) in the Kentucky Room of the Kentucky Museum and Library and is open to the public.

The Celebration also includes a writing competition for WKU students, alternating among poetry, fiction and non-fiction. The top 10 participate in a workshop by the presenter.

House is a nationally bestselling writer whose work frequently appears in The New York Times.  He is a former commentator for NPR and his work has been widely published in journals and magazines.  He has lectured internationally and is widely regarded as one of the major writers of the American South. He is the NEH Chair in Appalachian Studies in the Loyal Jones Appalachian Center at Berea College.

His novels include Clay’s Quilt (2001), The Coal Tattoo (2004), Something’s Rising (2009), Eli the Good (2009) and Same Sun Here (2012).

Jim Wayne Miller

Jim Wayne Miller

The Celebration of Writing began as a way to honor Miller’s career as a celebrated author, poet and teacher. He was a Professor of German language and literature at WKU for 33 years, where he was a member of the Department of Modern Languages and Intercultural Studies until his death in 1996. He served as a consultant to the Appalachian Studies programs in Kentucky, Tennessee and Ohio and was a visiting Professor in Appalachian Studies at the Berea College Appalachian Center.

His books include Copperhead Cane (1964), Dialogue With A Dead Man (1974), The Mountains Have Come Closer (1980), Vein Of Words (1984), Nostalgia for 70 (1986), Brier: His Book (1988), and Newfound (1989). Every Leaf a Mirror: A Jim Wayne Miller Reader, was co-edited in 2014 by Morris Grubbs and Mary Ellen Miller.

Miller was inducted into the Kentucky Writers Hall of Fame in 2015. Other honors include the Alice Lloyd Memorial Prize for Appalachian Poetry in 1967, the 1980 Thomas Wolfe Literary Award, the Zoe Kincaid Brockman Memorial Award, the Appalachian Writers Association Book of the Year Award and the Appalachian Consortium Laurel Leaves Award.

The Jim Wayne Miller Celebration of Writing, sponsored by WKU’s Department of English, is held each year during WKU’s Homecoming weekend.

Contact: Mary Ellen Miller, (270) 745-5721

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: