About the Post

Author Information

Student Activities Office hosts 10th LeaderShape Institute

The Student Activities Office recently hosted its 10th campus-based WKU LeaderShape Institute, an intensive, weeklong experience that teaches students to lead with integrity and believe in the impossible.

2016 LeaderShape Institute participants

2016 LeaderShape Institute participants

A group of 58 students spent May 14-20 at the All Saints Center in Leitchfield to participate in a six-day program full of lectures, simulations and small groups known as Family Clusters, which focused on their personal values and the visions they have to better the world in which we live. The LeaderShape Institute helps participants explore not only how to make positive change, but how to develop meaning relationships that put their visions into action.

As much as the students enjoyed bonding and learning in the large group setting, Family Cluster time was by far one of their favorite moments. Leading the students through the Family Cluster sessions were Family Cluster Facilitators, respected professionals associated with WKU. The facilitators were Jackie Pillow, Coordinator of Retention for the Division of Student Affairs; Andrew Jones, Fitness Coordinator for the Office of Intramural Recreational Sports; Imari Hazelwood, Counselor for the Office of Student Support Services; Kelvin Byers, Admission Counselor for the Office of Admissions; Zach Jones, Downing Student Union Graduate Assistant; and Katie Frazier, Student Activities Graduate Assistant.

Guest Leader Night is another component of the LeaderShape Institute that the students enjoyed. It’s designed to allow students to get to know professionals who have made positive change. The Guest Leader Night discussion featured Kristina Gamble, Program Coordinator for the Office of Institutional Diversity and Inclusion; Randall P. Bogard, Assistant Director for the Office of Student Activities; Lt. Col. Joe Harbaugh, Assistant Chief for the WKU Police Department; Drew Martin, President for Junior Achievement of South Central Kentucky; Molly Donnelly, co-owner of Stakz Frozen Yogurt; and Karen Towell, New Member and Chapter Advisor for Alpha Omicron Pi International Sorority.

This year’s Program Coordinator was Andrew Rash, Coordinator of Student Activities; the On-Site Coordinator was Josclynn Brandon, Coordinator of Student Activities; and the student On-Site Coordinator was Asia Larkin, a 2015 LeaderShape graduate.

View this video to get a behind the scenes look at what the students were up to during those six days and meet the 2016 LeaderShape graduates: Marc Ahlers of Louisville; Brianna Anderson of Fort Riley, Kansas; Luke Anderson of Louisville; Linsey Boerrigter of Danville, Virginia; Sarah Bowman of Owensboro; Jeanice Boyd of Lexington; Kaylan Boyd of Henderson; Gabrielle Bradley of Owensboro; Austen Breetz of Louisville; Kaleiah Brown of Murfreesboro, Tennessee; Katie Browning of Madisonville; Jonathan Bunnell of Glasgow; Laura Bunning of Fort Thomas; Mimi Burrow of Hendersonville, Tennessee; Alexia Cannady of St. Louis, Missouri; Chloe Condo of Franklin, Tennessee; Samantha Conradi of Hebron; Andi Dahmer of Fisherville; Diamond Darling of Lebanon, Tennessee; Justin Downey of Louisville; Logan Dunman of LaGrange; Ángel Enriquez of Antioch, Tennessee; Larie Ford of Louisville; Abri Forrest of Bowling Green; Tiye Gardner of Louisville; Kaycee Gibson of Horse Cave; Dalton Godbey of Stanford; Graham Goins of Louisville; Cindy Gomez of Bowling Green; Nathan Harrison of Colorado Springs, Colorado; Rebecca Haynes of Jamestown; Rachel Colleen Henson of Bowling Green, James Hill of Franklin; Holly Hughes of Bowling Green; Steven Hunter of Indianapolis, Indiana; Nyah Jameson of Indianapolis, Indiana; Brandon Johns of Evansville, Indiana; Gavin Knies of Versailles; Emily Leon of Bowling Green; Mary Madison Lyons of Tompkinsville; Mercedes Mendez of Tell City, Indiana; Marie Mennefield of Hermitage, Tennessee; Matt Miller of Fort Wright; Chase Moore of Prospect; Aniket Pai of Plano, Texas; Braxton Powell of Lewisburg; Jared Richards of Owensboro; Caroline Simpson of Bowling Green; Lauren Sirls of Benton; Arieal Smith of Glasgow; Jonathan Smith of Lexington; Emily Thomas of Elizabethtown; Erin Waggoner of Louisville; Kayla Walters of Louisville; Meagan Ward of Alvaton; Brandon Wiitala of Noblesville, Indiana; Breanna Wright of Danville; and Amy Wyer of Clarksville, Tennessee.

Contact: Josclynn Brandon, (270) 745-4434

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: