About the Post

Author Information

WKU recognizes top volunteers, alumni at 2015 Summit Awards

WKU recognized its top volunteers, alumni and alumni chapters Thursday night (Nov. 5) at the annual Summit Awards.

Distinguished Service Medals to recognize the service of the University’s top volunteers were presented to Jennifer Greulich of Louisville, Harvey Johnston of Bowling Green and Dan Renshaw of Bowling Green.

Linda and John Kelly were recognized as WKU’s Philanthropists of the Year.

Alex Via of Charlotte, North Carolina, was named the Young Alumnus of the Year and Julie Harris Hinson of Louisville was named the Alumna of the Year.

The Barren County, Greater Louisville, Music City, Owensboro and Northern Kentucky alumni chapters were recognized efforts in organizing alumni programs in their home communities.

The Summit Awards were presented by Service One Credit Union; the event was held at the Knicely Conference Center at WKU’s South Campus as part of Homecoming activities.

University-wide Volunteer of the Year awards were presented to the following:

  • Sandra Appling, Hilltopper Athletic Foundation Board
  • Kellyn Bailey, Society of African American Alumni Association
  • Steven Breidenich, Honors College Parents’ Advisory Council
  • Gary Broady, Business Executive Advisory Council of the Gordon Ford College of Business
  • Kevin and Paula Brown, Gatton Academy Parents
  • Roger Casalengo, Alumni Association National Board of Directors
  • Dr. Bill Chandler, WKU Owensboro
  • Dennis Chaney, College of Health and Human Services, Stakeholders Advisory Board
  • Brandon Davis, Young Alumni Council
  • Joe Easterling, Alumni W-Club
  • Erynn Ellis, Communication Sciences and Disorders
  • Karen Foley, The Center for Gerontology
  • Jennifer Greulich, College of Education Advisory Board
  • Jamie Hargrove, WKU Research Foundation Board
  • Dan Iacconi, WKU Glasgow
  • Barbara Johnston and Frank Kersting, Society for Lifelong Learning
  • R. Harvey Johnston III, College Heights Foundation Board
  • Lynn O’Keefe, WKU Public Broadcasting – WKU PBS
  • Dan Renshaw, WKU Foundation Board of Trustees
  • Louise Sauerland, Library Special Collections
  • Libby Simon, WKU Public Broadcasting – WKU NPR
  • Ron Skillern, The Center for Gifted Studies
  • Dave Tatman, Ogden College Advisory Council

Contact: Ginny Hensley, (270) 745-4395

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: