About the Post

Author Information

WKU wins Hearst photojournalism title for 22nd time in 26 years

With two top-three finishers in the final photojournalism contest of the 2014-15 Hearst Journalism Awards Program, WKU has won the Hearst Intercollegiate Photojournalism Competition for the 22nd time in the past 26 years.

Austin Anthony, a 2014 graduate from Herndon, Virginia, placed second in the Photo Picture Story/Series Competition and received a $2,000 award. Brittany Greeson, a senior from Owensboro, finished third and received a $1,500 award. WKU’s School of Journalism & Broadcasting will receive matching awards and will receive a $10,000 award for winning the photojournalism championship.

WKU students finished fourth and sixth in this year’s first photo competition, giving WKU the highest accumulated student points from the competitions.

WKU finished in first place in the Intercollegiate Photojournalism Competition followed by University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Syracuse University, Ohio University, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, Kent State University, San Francisco State University, University of Montana, University of Missouri and Indiana University.

Greeson and Katie McLean, a senior from Cumming, Georgia, are among 12 students who have been selected as national semifinalists in the Hearst competition. Semifinalists will submit additional portfolios for judging with six finalists selected to participate in the program’s National Championships June 1-5 in San Francisco. WKU students have won the Hearst individual photojournalism championship 11 times — 1987, 1988, 1991, 1992, 1996, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2008, 2010 and 2014.

Often called the “Pulitzers of College Journalism,” the Hearst Journalism Awards Program, now in its 55th year, includes two photojournalism, five writing, one radio, two television, and four multimedia competitions offering up to $500,000 in scholarships, matching grants and stipends; 108 member universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs are eligible to participate in the Hearst competitions.

In addition to winning the 2014-15 photojournalism title, WKU is in first place after three of four multimedia competitions.

In 2013-14, WKU won the Hearst Intercollegiate Multimedia Competition for the third consecutive year and tied for second in the overall Intercollegiate competition. WKU has finished in the top five nationally in the Hearst overall competition for the past five years and in the top eight for 21 straight years including national championships in 2005, 2001 and 2000. The overall results are based on points accumulated in the Hearst competition’s combined writing-broadcasting-photojournalism-multimedia standings. The final Intercollegiate winners will be announced in April.

Contact: School of Journalism & Broadcasting, (270) 745-4144

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: