About the Post

Author Information

22 WKU students, biology professor honored at Kentucky Academy of Science meeting

The Kentucky Academy of Science celebrated its 100th Anniversary at the Centennial meeting Nov. 14‐16 at the Lexington Convention Center. Since 1914 the Kentucky Academy of Science has provided venues for Kentucky’s scientists and student scientists to share their research.

Dr. Rodney King

Dr. Rodney King received the 2014 award for Outstanding College/University Teacher at the Kentucky Academy of Science meeting.

More than 800 scientists and students attended the 2014 Annual meeting, and hundreds of undergraduate and graduate students from Kentucky colleges and universities participated in the research competitions.

More than 20 graduate and undergraduate students at WKU received awards in the research competitions.

The Academy also honored WKU biology professor Rodney King with the 2014 award for Outstanding College/University Teacher.

Dr. King was recognized for his teaching excellence and initiatives in stimulating and securing funding for undergraduate research in Microbiology.

Student award winners from WKU include the following:

Graduate oral presentations

  • Cellular and Molecular Biology: First Place Victoria Gilkison
  • Chemistry Organic/Inorganic: First Place Tse‐Hong Chen
  • Chemistry Organic/Inorganic: Second Place Xin Liu
  • Computer and Information Sciences: Second Place Bryan A. Knowles
  • Ecology and Environmental Science: Second Place Charlotte Hacker
  • Engineering: First Place Pegah Kakavand
  • Engineering: Third Place Abjulhameed Dawood
  • Geography: First Place Kianoosh Ebrahimi
  • Geography: Second Place Ellen Barringer
  • Geology: First Place Lee Anne Bledsoe
  • Health Sciences: First Place Jennifer Dumaine
  • Microbiology: Second Place Hitesh Kumar Waghwani
  • Physiology and Biochemistry: Second Place Tulsi Modi
  • Zoology: First Place Sarah E. Goodyear

Undergraduate oral presentations

  • Ecology and Environmental Science: Third Place William Hamilton
  • Engineering: First Place Jack Wassom
  • Geology: Third Place Michaela Brook Curry
  • Physics and Astronomy: First Place Mary Spraggs

Undergraduate poster presentations

  • Chemistry Analytical/Physical: Second Place Frankie Wallace
  • Physics and Astronomy: Second Place Jared Walden
  • Physics and Astronomy: Third Place Carson Price
  • Physiology and Biochemistry: Second Place Dat Thinh Ha

More: List of award winners and photos.

About the Kentucky Academy of Science: The Kentucky Academy of Science is a non‐profit organization dedicated to advancing science in the Commonwealth. The Academy encourages scientific research, promotes the diffusion of scientific knowledge, and unifies the scientific interests of the Commonwealth. WKU faculty, staff and students may become members of the Kentucky Academy of Science at no cost, thanks to WKU’s Enhanced Affiliate membership, at www.kyscience.org.

Contact: Amanda Fuller, (859) 227-2837

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: