About the Post

Author Information

WKU’s Beta Gamma Sigma group recognized as Premier Chapter

The WKU chapter of Beta Gamma Sigma, the international honors organization for business, has been recognized as a Premier Chapter for the 2012-13 year by the organization.

“This is a significant achievement and indicates a high value is placed on scholarship recognition at Western Kentucky University,” said BGS president William C. Hunter.

Students ranking in the top 10 percent of the baccalaureate and top 20 percent of graduate programs at schools accredited by the AACSB International are eligible for Beta Gamma Sigma membership.

As a Premier Chapter, the group qualifies to participate in the BGS Matching Scholarship Program, can nominate a chapter advisor to be considered for the Outstanding Chapter Advisor and will be encouraged to apply to be a 2014 Outstanding Chapter where students can earn additional scholarships.

The WKU chapter has earned Premier Chapter for the past 13 consecutive years. Dr. Dawn Bolton and Dr. Shane Spiller are co-advisors for the group. The leadership team members for the 2012-13 school year were Hilary Mishler of Crawfordsville, Ind.; Susan Livers of Cox’s Creek; and Zach Mattingly of Bardstown.

“We are very proud of our Beta Gamma Sigma student members and faculty advisors for their dedication to outstanding business education. As an applied college of business that is accredited by AACSB International in business and accounting programs, the Gordon Ford College of Business is among the elite colleges of businesses in the world to hold this level of accreditation and distinction for student engagement,” said Dr. Jeff Katz, dean of the Gordon Ford College of Business.

Member Torrie Lange of Florence will be attending the Beta Gamma Sigma Student Leadership Forum in San Antonio, Texas, in February.

Member Emily Gott of Bowling Green was awarded $1,000 this academic year as part of the BGS Matching Scholarship Program.

Lange, Gott and Erika Klosterman of Bardstown will serve as the Beta Gamma Sigma Leadership Team for the 2013-14 academic year.

Beta Gamma Sigma was founded at the University of Wisconsin in 1913 as the first national honor society in business and has a network of more than 625,000 business professionals who have earned lifetime membership. The Society is celebrating its 100th anniversary this year and the WKU chapter is celebrating its 30th anniversary on campus.

Contact: Dr. Dawn Bolton, (270) 745-3107.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: