About the Post

Author Information

2012 Talisman wins Gold Crown

The Columbia Scholastic Press Association presented the 2012 Talisman with a Gold Crown Award during a ceremony March 10 at the spring College Media Association convention in New York City.

The award was the third consecutive Gold Crown for the WKU yearbook since resuming publication in 2003. The Talisman had received Silver Crowns for the 2003, 2007, 2008 and 2009 yearbooks and Gold Crowns for the 1982, 2010 and 2011 yearbooks and 1995 Talisman Xposure.

The four other Gold Crown winners were: Arbutus, Indiana University; Bugle, Virginia Tech; Ibis, University of Miami; and Red Cedar Log, Michigan State University.

Silver Crown winners were: Agromeck, North Carolina State University; Ouachitonian, Ouachita Baptist University; Sooner, University of Oklahoma; and Tower, Northwest Missouri State University.

The Crown Awards, the highest recognition given by the CSPA, signify overall excellence among student print and online media.

The Associated Collegiate Press has also named the 2012 Talisman a Yearbook Pacemaker finalist. The Pacemaker winners will be announced at the ACP/CMA National College Media Convention Oct. 23-27 in New Orleans.

Ashley Wittenborn, a graduate from Chicago, was editor of the 2012 WKU yearbook. Telia Butler, a Bowling Green graduate, was managing editor. Sarah McCullum, a Memphis graduate, and Dallas Stoller, a Louisville graduate, were writing editors. Amber Plunkett, a Clarksville, Tenn., senior was copy editor. Conor Lewis, a St. Louis graduate, and Matt Clifton, a Louisville graduate, were design editors and photo editors were graduates Tim Harris of Louisville and Armando Sanchez of Austin, Texas. The adviser was Katie Clark.

Talisman staff members won 20 Gold Circle (staff or individual awards), including nine firsts, three seconds, two thirds and six certificates of merit.

First-place individual winners were Clifton, Evansville senior Houston Harris and Wittenborn, title page design; McKinney, Texas, senior Brittany Sowacke, sports action photo; Louisville graduate Chris Wilson, sports feature photo; Minneapolis senior Danny Guy, academic photo; Clifton, feature presentation; Clifton and Wittenborn, division page design; Ormond Beach, Fla., senior Jerry Englehart Jr., Lewis, and Wittenborn, student life multi-page presentation; Clifton, Tim Harris, and Wilson, academic spread multi-page presentation and Clifton, Huntsville, Ala., junior Naomi Driessnack, and Sowacke, Greek spread multi-page presentation.

Placing second were Louisville graduate Alex Duke, sports reporting; Louisville junior Drew Couch, personality profile; and Lexington sophomore Dorothy Edwards, feature photo.

Third-place awards went to Paducah senior Monica Spees for academic writing and organization/Greek writing.

Certificates of merit were awarded to Louisville senior Lauren Cherry, student life feature writing; Stoller, sports reporting; Bowling Green graduate Shane Wood, sports feature writing; Spees, personality profile; Knoxville, Tenn., senior Jabin Botsford, sports feature photo; and Louisville junior Shelby Mack, feature photo.

The 2012 Talisman was also awarded two Apple Awards at the close of the convention on March 12. The awards were second place for Best Yearbook Cover and third place for Best Yearbook Spread.

Chuck Clark, director of Student Publications; Charlotte Turtle, Talisman adviser; and Owatonna, Minn., senior Sam Oldenburg represented WKU at the spring College Media Association convention in New York City.

Contact: Charlotte Turtle, (270) 745-3055.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: