About the Post

Author Information

Spirit of WKU, other awards presented

WKU President Gary Ransdell congratulates Dr. Julia Roberts, the 2012 recipient of the Spirit of WKU Award. (WKU photo by Clinton Lewis)

WKU President Gary Ransdell presented the annual Spirit of WKU, diversity, service and sustainability awards Friday morning (Aug. 24) at the 2012 opening convocation at Van Meter Hall.

11th annual Spirit of WKU Award

Dr. Julia Link Roberts, Executive Director of The Center for Gifted Studies and Mahurin Professor of Gifted Studies, received the 11th Spirit of WKU Award.

The award recognizes an individual who represents enthusiasm for WKU, loyalty to the institution and principles of the WKU experience and its motto “The Spirit Makes the Master.”

12th annual President’s Award for Diversity

WKU President Gary Ransdell recognized diversity award winners Dr. Aaron Hughey (above left) and Thomas Harris (above right). (WKU photos by Clinton Lewis)

Community: Eric Logan, founder and executive director of Light of Chance.

Employee: Dr. Aaron Hughey, professor in the Department of Counseling and Student Affairs.

Student: Thomas Harris, former president of Black Student Alliance and co-founder of Black Graduate Student Association.

The award recognizes recipients who represent a clear demonstration of exemplary leadership and achievement in promoting diversity at WKU and the communities it serves.

2nd annual President’s Award for Service

WKU President Gary Ransdell presented the service awards to Sarah Hagan (above left) and Paul Markham (above right). (WKU photos by Clinton Lewis)

Student: Sarah Hagan, a December 2011 graduate who co-founded the Senase Project to improve the education system in the village of Akatim in Ghana.

Faculty: Paul Markham, co-director of the Institute for Citizenship and Social Responsibility and assistant professor in the Honors College, who is leading civic engagement and service-learning efforts at WKU and across the nation.

2nd annual President’s Award for Sustainability

WKU President Gary Ransdell presented the sustainability awards to Sara Ferguson (above left) who accepted on behalf of student recipient Morgan Mickelson, and Dr. Terry Wilson. (WKU photos by Clinton Lewis)

Student: Morgan Mickelson, president of the GreenToppers, a student worker in WKU’s Department of Recycling and Surplus, and a senior in the Department of Geography and Geology where her concentration is in environmental planning and sustainable development.

Faculty: Dr. Terry Wilson, director of the Center for Environmental Education and Sustainability, who has spent most of his career specializing in teacher and leadership training in the area of environmental education.

Faculty award recipients

Faculty award winners were recognized at the Aug. 23 convocation. Top left: Susann Davis was congratulated by Dr. David Lee, dean of the Potter College of Arts & Letters; top right: Keith Philips (center) was congratulated by Dr. Gordon Baylis, vice president for Research, and Dr. Cheryl Stevens, dean of the Ogden College of Science and Engineering; bottom left: Saundra Starks was congratulated by Dr. John Bonaguro, dean of the College of Health and Human Services; bottom right: Virginia “Ginny” Pfohl was congratulated by Dr. Sam Evans, dean of the College of Education and Behavioral Sciences. (WKU photos by Clinton Lewis)

Provost Gordon Emslie formally recognized the following faculty award recipients, who were announced during May commencement ceremonies: Susann Davis, Department of Modern Languages, excellence in teaching; Keith Philips, Department of Biology, excellence in research/creativity; Saundra Starks, Department of Social Work, excellence in public service; Virginia “Ginny” Pfohl, Department of Psychology, excellence in student advisement.

WKU President Gary Ransdell congratulates University Distinguished Professor David Keeling. (WKU photo by Clinton Lewis)

Dr. David Keeling, professor and head of the Department of Geography and Geology, also was recognized as WKU’s newest University Distinguished Professor.

Contact: Public Affairs, (270) 745-5428.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: