About the Post

Author Information

WKU wins 4th consecutive Hearst photojournalism title; 20th in 23 years

For the fourth consecutive year and 20th time in 23 years, WKU has won the Hearst Journalism Awards Program’s Intercollegiate Photojournalism Competition.

WKU senior Armando Sanchez of Clovis, Calif., finished fourth in the Picture Story/Series Competition and received a $1,000 award. Sanchez also qualified for the semifinal round of judging in May. WKU senior Jared Hamilton of Pikeville finished eighth.

WKU’s School of Journalism & Broadcasting won the Intercollegiate Photojournalism Competition with the highest accumulated student points in the two photo competitions and will receive a $10,000 award. WKU was followed by Ohio University; University of Nebraska-Lincoln; Pennsylvania State University; Central Michigan University; San Francisco State University; University of Missouri; University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; University of Florida; Iowa State University.

Often called the “Pulitzers of College Journalism,” the Hearst program holds yearlong competitions in writing, photojournalism, broadcast news and multimedia offering up to $500,000 in scholarships, matching grants and stipends. Points from each competition are calculated to determine the Overall Intercollegiate winners, which will be announced in May.

WKU placed third overall in the 2010-11 Hearst program and has ranked among the top eight nationally for 18 consecutive years.

Contact: School of Journalism & Broadcasting, (270) 745-4144.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: