About the Post

Author Information

Larnelle Harris to be inducted into Kentucky Music Hall of Fame April 7

WKU music graduate and gospel music sensation Larnelle Harris will be inducted into the prestigious Kentucky Music Hall of Fame on Thursday (April 7) at the Lexington Center Bluegrass Room.

Larnelle Harris is among seven new inductees of the Kentucky Music Hall of Fame. The WKU graduate and gospel music singer has received numerous awards and honors, including a honorary doctorate from WKU in 2008 (pictured above).

The event will begin with a reception at 6 p.m. (EDT) followed by the induction ceremony at 8:15 p.m.

Harris, a 1969 WKU graduate in music education and a member of WKU’s Hall of Distinguished Alumni, has wowed audiences all over the world for more than three decades with his magical tenor voice. His name is synonymous with inspirational music and his achievements are noteworthy including five Grammy Awards, 11 Dove Awards, a Stellar Award and membership in the Gospel Music Hall of Fame.

In 1989, Harris’ recording of Mighty Spirit was featured in a nationwide TV campaign for the Points of Light Foundation, culminating in a performance of the song for President and Mrs. Bush at the White House in 1991.  As part of the history making Moscow Project in the former Soviet Union, sponsored by the International Bible Society and Youth for Christ International, Harris performed the first gospel concert ever held inside the Kremlin only one week after the 1991 attempted coup. His recordings of Everything You Are, The Father Hath Provided, From A Servant’s Heart, I’ve Just Seen Jesus, Touch Me Lord and Amen are modern classics.

The Kentucky Music Hall of Fame & Museum honors Kentucky performers, songwriters, publishers, promoters, managers, broadcasters, comedians and other music professionals who have made significant contributions to the music industry in Kentucky and around the world.

This year’s other inductees include Keith Whitley, Patty Loveless, Steve Warner, John Michael Montgomery, The Goins Brothers, and Molly O’Day.

Among the past inductees are Rosemary Clooney, the Everly Brothers, Loretta Lynn, Bill Monroe, Lionel Hampton, Ricky Skaggs, Mary Travers, Sam Bush, and Naomi and Wynonna Judd.


For more information about the Kentucky Music Hall of Fame & Museum, call 1-877-356-3263 or visit www.KYMusicHallofFame.com

Contact: Sally Ray, (270) 745-2283.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: