About the Post

Author Information

College Heights Herald, Talisman finalists for national Pacemaker Awards

WKU’s student newspaper and yearbook are finalists for national Pacemaker Awards.

The College Heights Herald is one of 25 finalists in the four-year non-daily newspaper category selected by the Associated Collegiate Press. The 2008 Talisman is one of 15 finalists in the yearbook category. Awards will be presented at the ACP annual convention Oct. 28-Nov. 1 in Austin, Texas.

Jan Diehm of Springfield, Tenn., and Susie Laun of Shepherdsville were Herald editors in the fall 2008 and spring 2009 semesters. Julie Kish of Mt. Juliet, Tenn., was 2008 Talisman editor.

The Herald has won 12 national Pacemakers while the Talisman has won 11 – including four since resuming publication in 2003. The Herald and Talisman have won national Pacemakers at the same convention six times – 1981, 1982, 1984, 1988, 2003 and 2005.

Five WKU students also are finalists for other ACP awards: Michelle Day and Angela Oliver in the diversity category for the 2009 ACP Story of the Year; Jan Diehm in the Newsmagazine/Special Section Cover category; and Susie Laun and Savannah Thomas in the Ad/Editorial Supplement.

Other finalists in the four-year Non-daily Newspaper category are: The Northern Light, University of Alaska Anchorage; Mars’ Hill, Trinity Western University; The Orion, California State University-Chico; UCSD Guardian, University of California-San Diego; Banner, California Baptist University; The Metropolitan, Metropolitan State College of Denver; The Miami Hurricane, University of Miami; Minaret, University of Tampa; The Columbia Chronicle, Columbia College; F Newsmagazine, School of the Art Institute of Chicago; Chicago Maroon, University of Chicago; Reflector, University of Indianapolis; The Tech, Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Central Michigan Life, Central Michigan University; Oakland Post, Oakland University; The Oracle, Hamline University; Student Life, Washington University; Creightonian, Creighton University; The Nevada Sagebrush, University of Nevada, Reno; The Ithacan, Ithaca College; Pendulum, Elon University; The Volante, University of South Dakota; The Vanderbilt Hustler, Vanderbilt University; Whitworthian, Whitworth University.

Other 2008 ACP Yearbook Pacemaker Finalists are: Razorback, University of Arkansas; The Angelos, California Baptist University; Ibis, University of Miami; Illio, University of Illinois; Arbutus, Indiana University; Royal Purple, Kansas State University; Kentuckian, University of Kentucky; Legenda, Wellesley College; Tower, Northwest Missouri State University; Agromeck, North Carolina State University; Recensio, Miami (Ohio) University; Sooner/Crimson Traditions, University of Oklahoma; Aggieland, Texas A&M University; and Selah, Liberty University.

Contact: Bob Adams, (270) 745-6278.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: