About the Post

Author Information

Veterans Upward Bound at WKU to celebrate 20th anniversary on Dec. 7

Veterans Upward Bound at WKU will celebrate 20 years of providing free educational services to veterans with an open house from 11 a.m. to 1 p.m. Dec. 7 at Jones-Jaggers Hall, room 129.

WKU houses the only Veterans Upward Bound program in Kentucky and has served more than 2,400 student veterans since 1992.

“Our primary mission is to help veterans get admitted to college so they can get the education they need to have a good quality of life,” Program Coordinator Rick Wright said.  “We give each student a full array of support services that include career counseling, academic advising, financial aid assistance, stipends and scholarships.”

In September, WKU’s Veterans Upward Bound, a federal TRIO program, was approved for five more years of funding by the U.S. Department of Education.

The program serves veterans who are low-income and first-generation college students and provides college prep classes in subjects like English, math and computer literacy.

Veterans Upward Bound alumni are enrolled at WKU, Bowling Green Technical College, Daymar College, University of Phoenix, Volunteer State Community College in Gallatin, Tenn., Ashford University in Clinton, Iowa, and many other schools.

“Veterans Upward Bound is an incredible resource, especially for veterans like me who have no benefits,” said Teresa K. Jameson, who is majoring in history and social studies with teacher certification and plans to graduate in May 2014. “I was so worried about going back to college that I didn’t know where to begin. I found Veterans Upward Bound and they helped make the maze of paperwork much simpler and even helped me get my math skills back to the level necessary for college. It is because of the great staff at VUB that I successfully completed the math CLEP exam. Their continued encouragement also led to an additional six exams completed successfully. My plans are to complete my four-year degree in just 2½ years and because of VUB, I have the skills necessary to be successful.”

Kent Johnson, a junior at WKU who is pursuing a degree in international affairs, agreed “When I look back on what has brought me to where I am today, I sincerely believe that Veterans Upward Bound played a huge role in getting me here,” Johnson said. “They provided the moral support, and confidence needed to realize that my dream of pursuing higher education was possible. I still remember when I had gotten out of the Marines, and had the desire to continue my education, but was hesitant due to the amount of time that had passed since I had gotten out of high school. I didn’t know where to being and thought that I might be too far behind academically.

“However when I found out about Veterans Upward Bound, and decided to give it a try, I was relieved to find a passionate group of people who had a desire to sit down with me and get me the help I needed. It was through their work in helping me realize that despite my initial hesitations, I should and more importantly could, successfully pursue higher education.”

Contact: Rick Wright, (270) 745-5008.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 65,425 other followers

