About the Post

Author Information

Cherry, Hong My share story at WKU

Dan Cherry, Lowell Guthrie and Nguyen Hong My participated in a tree planting April 20 near the Guthrie Tower on WKU's campus. The ceremony honored the friendship of Cherry and Hong My. (WKU Photo by Clinton Lewis)

Dan Cherry, Lowell Guthrie and Nguyen Hong My participated in a tree planting April 20 near the Guthrie Tower on WKU's campus. The ceremony honored the friendship of Cherry and Hong My. (WKU Photo by Clinton Lewis)

The story of an unusual friendship that began 37 years ago with a Vietnam War dogfight was recounted April 20 at WKU.

Retired Brig. Gen. Dan Cherry has written “My Enemy…My Friend,” a book about the dogfight, the efforts to restore the F-4 Phantom and his unlikely meeting and friendship with Vietnamese Mig-21 pilot Nguyen Hong My.

A tree planting ceremony to honor their friendship took place near the Guthrie Tower. At 7:30 p.m., they presented “My Enemy…My Friend” at Mass Media and Technology Hall Auditorium. The WKU events were sponsored by the Office of the Provost and The Center for Gifted Studies.

Their story was the focus of last week’s “View from the Hill” segment (transcript) by WKU’s Amy Bingham and also was featured on the front page of Sunday’s St. Petersburg Times.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58,020 other followers

